browned butter blondies

I got so excited when my most recent cookbook order arrived… Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, Chocolate Epiphany, and Martha Stewart’s Cookies. AHHH!!! I LOVE THEM ALLLL!!!! So, jumping right in, I found these in Martha Stewart’s Cookies (also available on her website) and thought the browned butter would be the perfect twist on already decadent bar cookies for my former orchestra teacher, who is a great friend of mine, perhaps because we share the same great appreciation of food. 🙂

Despite the fact that you have to wait while the butter browns, for some reason, I’d much rather have that wait then the wait needed for butter to soften and cream. Who knows why, but I just really don’t like waiting for butter to soften and then having to cream it…so, any brownie or cookie recipe that says “melted butter,” and I’m all over it! (Plus, it usually results in an extra chewy or moist product anyway)

And success! He loved them! Or so he told me… hehe. I of course had to try them for myself, and although I do love the flavor, it was definitely too sweet for my tastes, so I would take out the 1/2 cup white sugar and maybe start reducing the brown sugar too. I changed the original recipe, as he is allergic to nuts, and I also had no toffee bits in my home… So, I switched to white chocolate chips and King Arthur espresso chunks. Perhaps that was why they were too sweet…no nuts to balance. Anyway, they were still much loved, so that is all that matters in the end.

Brown Butter Toffee Blondies
Martha Stewart

Published in: on May 31, 2008 at 12:13 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thesweetgourmand.wordpress.com/2008/05/31/browned-butter-blondies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I saw a cracked top, and I was sold. Then I read ‘browned Butter’, ‘white Chocolate’ ‘Espresso’!

    It just keeps getting better.
    Fantastic job.

  2. Browned butter has to be one of my favorite flavors…great choice!

  3. These look amazing!!! Can’t wait to try them!

  4. Browned butter is one of my faves to use in recipes. I too just got that Martha Stewart Cookies book in the mail. Can’t wait to try some of the recipes out!

  5. These look and sound great. I will put them in my to-bake pile. Thanks for the rec to reduce the sugar because I definitely want to really taste the browned butter and not have it outranked by the sweetness. I was reading your older posts and I will definitely try La Creperie Cafe.

  6. Yum! You can tell how rich and unbelievably good these are from the photo. I love the recipe!

  7. I love love love blondie bar cookies. My favorite as a kid and still my favorite today. This is a recipe I’m suprised I’ve never come across before. Thanks for sharing!

  8. Wow, I didn’t realize these would be so popular… but I should’ve known, as I surely am not the only one in love with browned butter and blondies! Thanks for stopping by and I hope you guys enjoy! 🙂


Leave a Reply

