a voyage to fuji mountain

I had heard great things about Fuji Mountain, so I was pretty excited to finally be able to go for the Dine-Out Japan 20% off promotion tonight.  The restaurant itself has a very warm and comforting interior.  Most sushi restaurants I have visited have either a complete lack of care when it comes to decoration and ambience, or it is trying too hard to be trendy…but Fuji felt just right.  I felt like with the promotion I could be a little more adventurous with what I ordered, and got the “Take for Two,” which comes with 10 pieces of sushi, 10 pieces of sashimi, and some crazy spicy trio roll.  As fun as it was going through the pieces, I had a sad realization at the end of the meal that the only fish that I really, truly love, is tuna.  The other ones (especially salmon) leave a weird buttery flavor in my mouth that makes me sort of unhappy after I eat it.  I wish I could have a fine appreciation for each fish, but in the end, all I really want is my tuna.

After getting back, I have been reading Garlic and Sapphires.  It’s only 11:40pm on a Friday, and I’m suddenly quite sleepy.  So being the loser that I am, I think I’m going to go to bed now.  Goodnight!

Published in: on April 19, 2008 at 3:48 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thesweetgourmand.wordpress.com/2008/04/19/a-voyage-to-fuji-mountain/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

