here we go!

So a new blog begins!  I haven’t had a blog in quite some time… I guess after reading all the amazing food blogs led me to believe that I didn’t have experiences to blog about, no lyrical, creative way to present my thoughts.  And I probably still don’t.  BUT, I have had a sudden random desire to blog again, hooray!  Plus, I want to document my eating adventures and experiences for all of time! I adore all food, but as the title of my blog indicates, I tend to have gluttonous habits with desserts, but I focus more on the evolving meaning of gourmand, which is that I have a deep appreciation and discerning palate when it comes to anything sweet.

So, to start off my blog…today I did a bit of food shopping in an effort to revive my currently listless soul.  I am currently a student in Philadelphia, and when not having to study I am left to my own thoughts too much…which is a little unhealthy.  I set off towards Metropolitan Bakery under the warm afternoon rays, hoping to find a great chocolate chip cookie I have been fantasizing about for the past week.  After I got into the store though, the oversized cookie behind the display glass looked like the dry, crunchy variety that simply wouldn’t do, so I looked on.  Nothing really spoke out to me, except when I saw the canneles, I felt like the tiny burnt-brown treat would restore my spirit. 

Taking Metropolitan’s cannele out of the bag, I could tell the crust was not as it should have been, and I knew it would not live up to the canneles in France.  But, that wasn’t the point.  I wanted to be transported back to the carefree, wonderful time I had in Paris, and that’s what it did.  I had my first cannele during my first trip to Paris this spring…it was a surreal moment, sitting on the bench outside of Boulangerie Bechu, which I had read as having one of the best chocolate croissants in Paris.  Despite the hotel breakfast we had just consumed (that had included a chocolate croissant), we feasted on chocolate croissant, with a side of chocolate brioche (which sadly paled after the croissant), topped off by cannele.  It was crusty on the outside, custard-like on the inside, just as I had read about so many times. 

Biting into Metropolitan’s cannele, I found the creamy richness that reminded me of my wonderful trip, full of discovery and excitement, and thus encouraged me to trek on… at least, until my next sweet.

Published in: on April 18, 2008 at 2:20 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thesweetgourmand.wordpress.com/2008/04/18/here-we-go/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

