pierre herme’s gateau reine de saba

When I finally got to visit Paris this year, I of course had to visit Pierre Herme’s shop, and go crazy inside! Besides trying various macarons, I definitely wanted to purchase a cookbook of his in the shop as a keepsake. That cookbook turned out to be his “Larousse du Chocolat.”

This book truly is incroyable! It has many categories- cookies, cakes, tarts, confections…and each is divided into “simple” and “for impressing.” Although my French is a little lacking, I figured I could just use an online translator for whatever I needed… and if not, well, looking through the much adored Herme’s recipes and pictures would be enough for me.

Fortunately, I was able to piece together instructions well enough, and made my first thing out of the book today: Gateau de Reine de Saba. This is a fairly simple cake, especially when it comes to Pierre Herme, but simplicity is sometimes just what you need. I paired it with fantastically sweet strawberries, and it was a wonderful way to end a summer meal.

There is a slight crispy crust on top that gives way to a moist interior, and thanks to the almond flour, has a firm, yet soft texture, all at the same time. The gateau is not too rich or sweet, with a strong chocolate flavor that really shines with the cocoa powder on top. I can’t wait to tackle more recipes from this book!

Gateau Reine de Saba
From Pierre Herme’s “Larousse du Chocolat”

125 grams 60% bittersweet chocolate
60 grams butter
3 eggs
125 grams powdered sugar
40 grams potato starch
75 grams almond flour
20 grams cocoa powder

Preheat the oven to 350ºF.
Melt the chocolate and the butter in the microwave for 1-2 minutes and mix well.
Separate the eggs, and in a stand mixer, whip the egg yolks and sugar for 3 minutes, until lightened in color.
Add the potato starch and almond flour.
Stir with a wooden spoon or plastic spatula and add the melted chocolate and butter.
Whip the egg whites with a pinch of salt, and gently mix in to the chocolate mixture.
Pour the mixture into a buttered and floured 18 cm charlotte mold (I used a 9 inch springform pan, which is probably why mine came out so flat), and bake for 40 minutes (due to my much wider pan, I only baked for 30 and that was still a bit too much).
After taking it out of the oven, unmold the cake on a cooling rack and let it cool.
Sprinkle the cocoa powder on top when cool to serve.

Published in: on June 8, 2008 at 9:54 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thesweetgourmand.wordpress.com/2008/06/08/pierre-hermes-gateau-reine-de-saba/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This looks wonderful!

  2. that looks really, really good. i dream about visiting herme’s paris shop!

  3. Looks like a wonderfully moist chocolate cake. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I have some of his books but not the French ones.

  4. Oooh lovely! I have a Pierre Herme cookbook (it’s the desserts one) but am yet to make anything from it. Your lovely cake might just spur me into action!

  5. I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering issues with your site. It appears like some of the text on your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen before.

    Cheers


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

